Download More Music

Willy Paul loses his cool and attacks event organizers after Groove Awards 2017 snubbed Bahati and him

May 04, 2017 at 12:45
Willy Paul loses his cool and attacks event organizers after Groove Awards 2017 snubbed Bahati and him

Bahati and Willy Paul have not been nominated in any category in Groove awards 2017…and Willy Paul didn’t take it lightly that he was brushed off just like that.

A dejected Willy Paul stormed out of Groove Awards nominations gala that was held at the University of Nairobi on Tuesday May 2nd 2017.

The ‘I Do’ hit maker couldn’t stomach being given the cold shoulder by Groove Awards, Willy and his frenemy Bahati didn’t secure a single nomination slot for 2017 Groove Awards.

Bahati and Willy Paul

Willy Paul attacked event organizers after he walked out of Groove nomination gala, he said that they didn’t appreciate hard work.

“Don’t expect them to appreciate your hard work: human beings should not be trusted. If you trust them:: you will only get hurt badly.. get used to being alone.: let ur only option be CHRIST THE KING.. don’t let the earth and the things in it define you.. you’re better than them all,” wrote Willy Paul.

Below is the list of all nominees for Groove Awards 2017:


Groove male artist of the year

Daddy Owen

Eko Dydda

Kris Eeh Baba

Pastor Anthony Musembi

Guardian Angel



Groove female artist

Alice Kimanzi

Evelyn Wanjiru


Mercy Masika

Princess Faridah

Size 8


Groove song of the year

Bamba Mbaya – Kelele

Bazokizo – Collo

Huyu Yesu – Mercy Masika

Kutembea Nawe – Rebecca

Pale Pale – Size 8

Thitima – Kymo & Stigah


Groove Afro-Pop nominees

Bazokizo – Collo

Aina Noma – Kelele Takatifu

Bamba Mbaya – Kelele Takatifu

Bumaye – Magic Mike & Kambua

He Did It – Kris Erroh

Thitima – Kymo & Stigah


New Artist/Group of the year

Ben C

Dar Mjomba



Stonee Jiwe



 Radio presenter of the year

Amani Aila – Hope FM

DJ Ruff – Ghetto Radio

Eva Mwalili – Milele FM

Jay Njoroge – Home Boyz

Kerry Kagiri – Kubamba

Tess Libanze – Truth FM


Album of the year

Ambition – Recapp

Matendo – Everlyn Wanjiru

Natamani – Laura Karwirwa

Optimo Worship – Musembi

We Will Rule – Mwanga Band

Wimbo Mpya – Sarah K

Click the link below to see the full list:

Groove Awards 2017



in News